16 Things I Forget to Thank My Dad For

Inspired by the post 16 Things We Forget to Thank Our Moms For…

I love my mother, and I am so thankful to have her and love her, but I have so many things to be grateful to my daddy for. Things that my mother couldn’t even understand.

1. For skipping out on a job or estimate to drive me to my dance competitions and recitals.

2. For being at those performances with arms full of costumes and make-up bags, not so sure how to help, but always willing to.

3. For always telling me that you were proud.

4. For toting around me and all or my friends through the mall when we weren’t old enough to be there without a parent.

5. For never interrogating me on where I was or what I was doing. For always trusting me.

6. For forgiving me when I forgot to call or got too busy. Always.

7. For helping me through all the hard times I just couldn’t go to mom for.

8. For being my very best friend.

9. For coming to my college graduation. And cheering the loudest. For letting me live my college life however I saw fit, including run-down apartments, working three jobs, living in the ghetto, and a research paper. And for listening to me bitch about it all.

10. For never saying “I told you so”.

11. For all of the home cooked meals I never had to ask for; for all of the French toast and vegetarian meals, and the one pot wonders.

12. For all of the times you brought home a bottle of wine and invited me to drink it with you.

13. For all of the take-out we ordered, and all the times we went out to dinner, just me and you.

14. For Bob Dylan. And influencing my taste in music more than you could imagine.

15. For grandpa. For my family – aunts, uncles, cousins. For my brother and sister. You taught me the value of family.

16. For dealing with mom and always leaving us out of it. You always did your best and kept us away from the drama, even when it was the hardest thing you ever had to do.

One thought on “16 Things I Forget to Thank My Dad For

Leave a comment